DIY data recovery has risks. You could lose your data forever! Don't want to risk it? Talk to a professional now.
Jared":3f4sjjmc said:[post]14116[/post] It changes the last byte of data in the MBR from AA (active) to BB (offline).
You're right, that is what I was thinking. Not totally sure what that option does.Sam":3dujwl91 said:Jared":3dujwl91 said:[post]14116[/post] It changes the last byte of data in the MBR from AA (active) to BB (offline).
Are you sure? I think the box the OP asks about changes the source to "offline" in Windows Disk Management but doesn't write anything to the source. I may be wrong but that box might only pop up when source isn't connected to a PC3k port, like when using a flash drive in a USB port as source. You may be thinking of when you check the box "modify MBR" which makes the AA to BB change to the destination drive.