1400700226
Data Recovery Noob
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 7:13 pm

Re: How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Sat Nov 07, 2015 4:52 am

Thanks a lot!

KNOPPIX boot so fastly, and ddrescue is very easy to use. I did a test, I cloned my 20GB Seagate Drive, Then use R-Studio to scan, really much faster!

juan.ictech
Data Recovery Noob
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:44 am

Re: How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Thu Nov 19, 2015 8:56 am

hi there, this would be my first post
I am also using ddrescue for about 6 years know and then I invest in hardware tools and my recovering success went up a lot, but I am running out of tools and need to use ddrescue as backup. But here is where I struggle with the new version.

I can start and .img from any input file ( -i ) and that work great and the reverse image works great, but say I skipped from 5gig to 20gig due to a lot of read errors then I cant go back to ( -i5gig ) to retry the skipped sectors. It keeps on imaging where I last stopped it. in the old version I was able to jump back and forth but not any more

Regards
Juan

User avatar
Jared
Forum Admin
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:32 pm
Location: Providence, RI
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Skype YouTube Google+

Re: How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:27 pm

I honestly haven't noticed that issue. But, I also generally just image the full disk or a single partition rather than jump ahead. These days, with all the tools at my disposal I really only use ddrescue for SAS drives or other odd media like ZIP drives. Maybe someone else knows more about this issue and how to possibly work around it....

jol
Data Recovery Pro
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:31 pm

Re: How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Thu Nov 19, 2015 2:59 pm

why can't you use the old one ?
juan.ictech wrote:but say I skipped from 5gig to 20gig due to a lot of read errors

dd_rhelp is especially designed for that

jimmy5
Data Recovery Noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:21 am

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Thu Jul 28, 2016 3:49 pm

i was also wondering.... what application do i have to use to read/fix the cloned image ?

User avatar
Jared
Forum Admin
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:32 pm
Location: Providence, RI
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Skype YouTube Google+

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Thu Jul 28, 2016 4:02 pm

It depends on the file system type really. But, for most cases I'd recommend using R-Studio to then scan the image: https://www.data-medics.com/product/r-studio-demo/

jimmy5
Data Recovery Noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:21 am

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Sun Jul 31, 2016 5:20 am

ok thanks =)
but how long does 1TB usually take to scan? i'm currently wondering if the USB cable has actually switched itself into USB2.0 or USB1.0 mode because it says that the scan will take 8 hours...

User avatar
Jared
Forum Admin
Posts: 3517
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:32 pm
Location: Providence, RI
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Skype YouTube Google+

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Sun Jul 31, 2016 10:22 am

Scanning over USB can be painfully slow. USB 3.0 isn't bad, but you have to be sure your dock/adapter is a USB 3 one and not the more common USB 2. If you can SATA connect the drive where the image is stored it's even faster.

jol
Data Recovery Pro
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 11:31 pm

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Sun Jul 31, 2016 11:14 am

Considering that the max speed you'll get is 35MB/s, 8 hours is not that slow atall

jimmy5
Data Recovery Noob
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Oct 23, 2015 9:21 am

How to Clone a Hard Drive With Bad Sectors Using ddrescue

Sun Jul 31, 2016 3:39 pm

ok thanks =)
but i think that it actually only found the files of the previous owner, lol (he had lots of games on it)
so i guess that ddrescue didnt actually copy anything, but just made the drive undetectable in Windows? (it shows it in disk manager, but no drive letter is under my comp....)
and i guess i can just wipe it again and just start using it and later take the failed drive to a pro...

Return to “Data Recovery Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests