Windows not able to read from My Passport Ultra

ConzT

Hello everyone!

I have a WD MyPassport Ultra 2TB which shows very strange behavior.

What I have observed so far:
- doesnt show up in explorer (as soon as I disconnect the drive,it shows as drive D:)
- I can see it in device Manager, tried to Update drivers but apparently up to date drivers are installed
- downloaded WD DriverUpdater from the official site, doesnt recognize the drive
- when connecting the HDD first and then opening diskmgmt, diskmgmt Loads indefinitly
- when first opening diskmgmt and then connecting the HDD, it does show the disk after some time with the diskspace but i cant edit its properties,etc....

I dont have a lot of in depth knowledge on how HDDs work and am looking for your opinions on what the issue might be and if there is a possibility to try saveing the data myself. Im a network engineer and work with data but I usually only make sure to deliver it to your drives properly... hehe
I have no clue about what the issue might be but are there any lower level cli tools I can work with and teach myself? I feel comfortable with clis and usually read help Pages enough to understand what to do and what not do do. Id love to dive into this topic but if its too much of a hastle I'll contact a professional!

Thanks for your help!

pclab

Usually what I do is open the enclosure and convert the drive from USB PCB to SATA PCB for better control.
After that, I try to diagnose it.
Do you hear strange noises/clicks? or does it spin OK?
Could be a FW problem or a physical problem.

ConzT

Thanks for your help @pclab and sorry for my late response!
I removed the drive from its case but havent tried to convert it to SATA yet, need to read into that ;)

I do hear the drive spinning but also hear some clicks or scratching in a very steady rythm.. As if the head moves forth and back maybe?

Can I open the Harddisk further to investigate the head?

ConzT