Has ddrescue has worked?

boredofcopy

Hi, I'm a novice. I typed the ddrescue - n - f command old disk to new disk and waited 20 hours.

It only did one pass as far as I can tell but I have read about people doing more passes but not sure if I need to do that?

It says 0 errors

Please someone look my output picture and tell me if I need to do anything else or if I can now start using my new disk clone?

It's so boring waiting for it to copy!

Thanks

Attachments

• ddrescue.JPG
    ddrescue.JPG
    804.6 KB · Views: 597

Jared

Administrator
Staff member
If you don't see that "rescued" number counting up, then it has just stopped responding. Most likey the source drive has gotten stuck in a busy state.

What is the original drive, something like a Seagate ST2000DM001?

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

boredofcopy

Yes. The numbers on the left would stop for a while then count up then the numbers on the right would go as high as 125MB/s for a few seconds then gradually drop down to about 26700 KB/s and this would keep going to and fro at a constant pace. The numbers on the left started at 0 and gradually reached 2000 GB and then it stopped and said finished. The whole process too about 21 hours. It says errors 0. Does that mean it worked or do I need to do anything else?

The old drive was a seagate 2TB ST2000DM001 (30K hours used) plugged into ESATA and the new drive is TOSHIBA DT01ACA300 3TB plugged into USB3.0 using a star-tech adapter cable.

I just read a bunch of stuff about doing a second pass, etc but I think maybe it does not need that, so I thought to ask on here for a pro to take a look at my screenshot after it ended? Thank you!

(If it is ready, I will store the old drive as backup and start using the new one where I left off.)

boredofcopy

Background:

The old seagate 2tb disk was dual boot with linux and has been working with no problems but is nearly full so I decided to replace it with a 3tb toshiba and clone the 2tb onto that.