User avatar
pclab
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:55 pm
Contact: Website Facebook

Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 19, 2015 8:52 am

Hi

Today I got a Seagate SAS part from a RAID 1, that failled.
I don't have any tools to check it, besides the SCSI card.
Can I work with it by terminal?
The HDD just stopped being detected. No bad noises, or power faillure.
I will post the full model here later.
Thanks
www.pclab.com.pt
facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica

User avatar
lcoughey
Forum Moderator
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Google+

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:12 am

With SAS drives, I tend to find 1 of 2 issues:

1. Fatal head crash
2. Bad sectors

I can't say that I have encountered a single case where it was a firmware issue. That said, it is bound to happen when we encountered SAS drives with damaged translators. But certainly not enough to justify the expense of PC3K SAS/SCSI.

With Seagate SCSI drives, I've just used PLSCSI to fix translator issues. Unfortunately, I don't even know if PLSCSI could be used with SAS drives too.

User avatar
lcoughey
Forum Moderator
Posts: 646
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:46 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Google+

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:12 am

...if it is a RAID 1, then just copy the data from the working drive.

jerovsek
Data Recovery Novice
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 2:28 am

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 19, 2015 9:39 am

Hello,
if drive is from RAID 1(mirror), then user just need to replace faulty drive.
Could you write more details
With SCSI card, you will not be able to do anything. Buy SAS card

User avatar
pclab
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:55 pm
Contact: Website Facebook

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 19, 2015 10:17 am

Sorry, my bad.
It's Raid 0. I wish it was Raid 1....

The Drive is a Cheetah ST3146855SS.
Thanks
www.pclab.com.pt
facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica

User avatar
Jared
Forum Admin
Posts: 3773
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:32 pm
Location: Providence, RI
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Skype YouTube Google+

Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:28 pm

Theoretically SAS is essentially SCSI, so plscsi should work for it. But I don't know if there are any SAS cards with a DOS driver which it would recognize.

User avatar
pclab
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:55 pm
Contact: Website Facebook

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Sat Jun 20, 2015 7:15 am

HI Jared

Thanks for the input.

But plscsi works as terminal? You can send commands?
Thanks
www.pclab.com.pt
facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica

User avatar
Jared
Forum Admin
Posts: 3773
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2015 12:32 pm
Location: Providence, RI
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Skype YouTube Google+

Sat Jun 20, 2015 11:34 am

Plscsi allows you to send direct SCSI commands to the drive. Including the command to regenerate the translator. No need for a com connection at all. I've never done it with an SAS drive though.

User avatar
pclab
Forum Moderator
Posts: 1723
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2015 4:55 pm
Contact: Website Facebook

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:57 pm

Ah OK.

Can you share the command?
www.pclab.com.pt
facebook.com/PCLAB.Assistencia.Tecnica

User avatar
w.simon
Forum Moderator
Posts: 148
Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2015 11:41 am
Location: France
Contact: Website Facebook Twitter Google+

Re: Seagate SAS faillure

Fri Jun 26, 2015 9:11 am

Hello

Any updates from this case ?

Good Luck
A.G.D.I Data Recovery in France
Dolphin Data Lab Official Partner
Récupération de Données

Return to “Seagate Data Recovery”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest