Platter swap question

MrJimSir

I'm new to this. I've watched a few YouTube videos and peeked inside my problem hard disk drive. I don't know whether this is the right spot to post a basic question, but here it is: it looks like I could just remove its platters, using scotch tape to keep them lined up right, remove the platters from a new drive, and place the old ones on the spindle. Would that work?

Jared

Administrator
Staff member
MrJimSir":330iv92h said:
[post]13463[/post] Would that work

I can almost certainly guarantee it wouldn't. Platter swap is only ever done as a last resort if there is no other way to get it spinning. Trying to get a drive calibrated again afterward requires highly specialized tools and years of knowledge and experience you don't have. Even us professionals only resort to that a few times a year despite handling hundreds of cases.

You have about the same odds as successfully performing brain surgery from seeing it done on YouTube. And I'd give it 99.9% odds that platter swap is the wrong solution for your case anyway.

Perhaps you could start be describing what's going on with the drive.

MrJimSir

Gee, I didn't think anyone would answer me!
When my 3.5" Seagate hard drive first malfunctioned, it just clicked quietly. I bought an Aukey enclosure for it after watching a video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cTZBMi-XwQ) about how a failing SATA bridge card usually makes people think their drive itself is shot. This didn't help.
I opened the drive itself. I think at first the platter spun but the little arm was stuck on it, so I manually docked the arm. Now nothing happens. I can manually spin the platter, but the arm isn't stuck but doesn't move.

You are playing with Seagate drive like this.I had opened so many drives different brands.
I am still afraid of touching Seagate case. Good luck. (I am sorry to no luck there unless there is no professional tools and long tirm experience)

Jared

Administrator
Staff member