After EaseUS deep scan can't find my files :(

Hi All

I've got a Maxtor 80GB HD from 2002 and it failed in 2004. I've kept it in the hope that one day I can get important text documents off it (I'm a writer).

I scanned it with EaseUs 5.8 a few years ago while the HD was still broke (clicking noise and not booting or being detected) and got 40 out of 80gb (the hard drive was quite full. Looked for the files I wanted and only found a few.

Yesterday, after doing some research on utube I found out how to stop the clicking noise by removing the cover and sliding the "stylus" back to the starting point. The hard drive stopped clicking so tried another EaseUs scan, found a few more files but nowhere near the number I was after, about 50 still missing.

The file type I'm looking for are Rich Text Documents (RTF) - these were what I used for my writing. I'm currently scanning the drive again with a more up to date application EaseUS 11.9 and it's been at it for a few hours so maybe it will find more but I'm not that hopeful, looks like the files might have gone. The drive hasn't been reformatted just stopped working and shoved into a draw. The drive is operating now (without clicking) but there are no files visible until after a deep scan. Reads as an empty drive/new drive would.

I have 2 questions:

Even though the files are not visible is it possible, now the drive is working, to be able to boot it in the old pc it was in? e.g. if I do a windowsXP recovery ?? I'm comfortable reinstalling windows/reformating or recovery modes etc. just not been in the position of fixing a clicking hard drive then trying to get it to reboot without its files being visible.

If after this current scan I'm still left with these missing files, apart from sending it to the professionals, what can I do next? Is there more sophisticated software out there which might recover these files?

Hope you can point me in the right direction, thanks in advance,

Barefoot.

Jared

Administrator