I/O errors

dwd

Trying to rescue files from corrupted Toshiba MK6411MAT using a USB adapter. The drive quietly (need to hold it to my ear) makes "hunting" sounds immediately after plugging in to USB port, but doesn't get drive letter assignment. Disk manager says it needs initialization and has 6 Gb unallocated. Device manager shows adapter working properly and gives drive model info under "Properties". I've read that initialization will only be useful to prepare for formatting, but not help accessing files so I downloaded DMDE 4 for Windows (console pkg).

In DMDE when I attempt to open volume, I get Winerror 1117. When I attempt full scan, I get Winerror 23 (CRC error). When I change parameters to sector jump 1 and retry, I get Winerror 1117. When I did these things the drive remained silent. Perhaps the events were too quick for my ears.

Should I try initialization anyway? I'm a novice, but would that be like replacing the table of contents in a book with a blank table of contents?

I'm hoping only the Windows 98 OS is corrupted. I don't need that. I just want some of my personal files, pics, and maybe a couple programs.

Jared

Administrator
Staff member
NO! Under no circumstance should you ever initialize a drive you are trying to recover data from. To "initialize" means to create a new partition table and that can be data destructive.

The drive is having hardware issues, at the very least it has bad sectors and could be much worse.

How much is this data worth? Before going DIY, be sure you're prepared for the very real risk of losing the data forever. If you can't risk that, you'll want to opt for pro help.

dwd

Thanks for confirming that. I take it these I/O errors are the usual symptoms of hardware fault in this drive and that DMDE won't help.